ANOTHER DAY, ANOTHER PATTERN …

Today, I am very happy to release the first of my Autumn/Winter shawl collection.

Please meet ETHNE.

Ethne by L Hamps
I Love Red, However my camera isn’t as enamoured and the depth of tone doesn’t quite match, think of crisp, Red Delicious apples and you’ll be close …

She is a pretty little thing, Celtic in flavour, (hence her name, which means ‘fire’) and is knitted in the lovely Rowan Pure Wool in DK/Light Worsted Weight on 4.50 mm needles. I chose the ‘Kiss’ colour way which has a lovely rich tone and reminded me of crackling bonfires and Christmas of course…

The yarn blocked beautifully and produced a light, airy fabric, but because of the 100% wool content, is still cosily warm and ideal for autumn and early winter, and great for wearing indoors too. A slightly larger shawl, with extra warmth factor, could easily be made by using a Worsted Weight/Aran yarn but still on the 4.50 mm needles. Rowan also produce a worsted weight yarn in a staggering 62 colours and this is on my ‘to do’ list once I have the time. If you are on a tighter budget, King Cole Merino Blend Aran is a really soft alternative.

Whichever yarn you favour, it is important that it has a high natural fibre content, like all lace knitting, good blocking is vital to achieve the best results, and although acrylic can have it’s place, there is nothing like a good quality, natural yarn to show off all your lovely work at it’s best.

As is usual with most of my designs, I do like a touch of versatility and Ethne is no exception.

PicMonkey Collage

Whether worn traditionally around the shoulders or wrapped around to warm your throat, as a neckerchief, Ethne adds a touch of feminine prettiness to your outfit. As you can see, the edges of the applied border are straight, rather than tapering into points and this makes it easier to wear flat under a coat or jacket too.

I do hope you like her. Feedback, of any kind, is very welcome and appreciated.

Find the pattern Here. (It would mean a lot too if perhaps you wouldn’t mind popping by and making her a ‘favourite’ … really helps me a lot …thank you lovies.) ❤ x

PS: Still waiting for grand-baby to arrive, think this frantic knitting spree may be a way of distraction.. 😀

 

Leave a comment