In The Pink…

Had a fabulous visit from my youngest son and his wife this weekend which means that I can now share the teeny projects I have been beavering away at recently. As regulars will know, my first grandchild (a little girl), is due at the end of September and I am beyond excited! My beloved daughter-in-law is embracing her pregnancy beautifully and embodies the cliché of ‘blossoming’ perfectly and their happiness as a couple is delightful.

Choosing baby items to knit or crochet has re-confirmed how fussy I am, (and further explains why I design) but after a very long search, (gosh there are a lot of baby patterns out there!..lol), together with the occasional little modification, I produced this pretty layette that I was very happy with…SAMSUNG CSC

The cute little cardigan appealed to me because of the absence of button bands, I chose to add the one button in a pale creamy yellow to match the contrast yarn used on the bootees and mittens but it would be easy to add more if preferred, utilising the eyelets as buttonholes. I modified slightly by omitting the scalloped cuffs and replacing them with 3 rounds of garter stitch, I also turned under the front edges a tiny amount and sewed them down to make a ‘firmer’, more structured fabric.

Pattern found HERE.
Pattern found HERE.

Next on my list was to find the perfect bootees. I loved the traditional shaping of these and the deep cuff means they should stay on nicely. Really easy to make and I would highly recommend this pattern, so much so, I don’t think I’ll ever use any other….

SAMSUNG CSC
Pattern found HERE.

Hats were obviously required and this pretty lace leafy one caught my eye. Again I made a little change, replacing the ribbed edging with a rolled edge. This gives extra flexibility and I just think rolled edges look cute!

Pattern found HERE.
Pattern found HERE.

Then of course mittens were required.. 🙂 These were simple and plain and thumbless, perfect…I used Jeny’s stretchy cast on with two strands of 4 ply, one pink, one creamy yellow.

Pattern found HERE.
Pattern found HERE.

The lovely shell blanket I have mentioned before but here is a reminder. It washed beautifully and came out so soft, my favourite ‘feature’ is that it can be added to as the years pass and can eventually become a bedspread.

SAMSUNG CSC
Pattern found HERE.

Finally, I couldn’t resist making a ‘baby bear hat’. Again, lots of patterns are available but none really appealed to me. (see, fussy mare, lol) So made up my own, I chose crochet this time as it is quicker and easier to produce a nice firm fabric for the ears.

Basic notes on design Here.
Basic notes on design Here.

Hopefully, I will be given permission to show the precious recipient modelling them one day soon..


Finally, I am still working on my shawl collection. Asherah is going through a transformation as I have decided to incorporate the edging with the body of the shawl instead of adding it later, which means Mr Frog has had to come out to play (again). Thankfully the lovely Summerlite yarn by Rowan is extremely forgiving and doesn’t appear to mind. Also, here is a sneak preview of shawl/wrap number two using Rowan’s DK Pure Wool. Name still to be decided…(Tweedledee is a possibility, what do you think?)

It's a wrap! On my needles now...
It’s a wrap! On my needles now…

Happy Yarning Peeps… ❤ x

Leave a Reply

