Pillow Talk … (Or chucking a bit of colour about)

 

 

image via www.hongkiat.com
image via http://www.hongkiat.com

“You say pillow, I say cushion, You say scatter, I say bolster ” 000000

Whatever you prefer to call them, you can never have enough of these squidgy squares  scattered throughout your home, (other shapes are also widely available!) They add texture, colour and comfort and give you something to hide your face behind when something scary pops up on TV. They can be tiny with special words strewn across or elephantine to sprawl across on the floor.  They give us something to clutch and cuddle across our bellies and make spontaneous ‘sofa sex’ more comfortable… (I vaguely recall, lol)

During decades of marriage with kids, many incarnations of taste passed through our homes, from black Habitat furniture with grey carpets and sponged walls through yards and yards of damask and crystal chandeliers, to a stark and clinically white interior with monochrome prints and red oriental accessories. All embellished with various cushions….

Inevitably, the years pass and kids become adults with cushions of their own, husbands (amicably) sign divorce papers, become friends and cushions are divided or lost. Lovers move in and move out again or sadly find a fluffy cushion to settle down on in the Sky.

Like many people of my age group, I surprisingly (but not unhappily) find myself residing alone. In recent years I have lived in a rented flat with plain Magnolia walls, white woodwork and beige carpets. These are hugely offset by the fabulous sea views I enjoy from my fourth floor windows but when looking inwards, bland is the name of the game.  Works of art inject some colour but in recent years I have found myself acquiring a rather washed out, pale and ‘shabby chic’  kind of interior.

The 'grown-up' sofa....
The ‘grown-up’ sofa….

Luckily I have two ‘living’ rooms and one is my ‘grown-up’ space with cream sofas, wicker, antique pine and glass candlesticks. The cushions are in pretty needlepoint or patchwork which I have made over the years and are complimented with   shades of silken burgundy.

The other room, my favourite,  is slowly becoming the kind of room I’ve always hankered after. One full of colour and vibrancy and layers of texture. Eclectic and filled with nonsense things that don’t match or blend and would probably make a husband/lover bristle with indignation whilst muttering words like ‘kitsch’ and ‘tacky’.

The 'not so grown-up sofa' ...one day it's rather scruffy navy cover will be replaced entirely by crochet...
The ‘not so grown-up sofa’ …one day it’s rather scruffy navy cover will be replaced entirely by crochet and will be piled high with more yarny gorgeousness…

 

Having children so young, I never had the opportunity, or means, to attend art college and so this room is turning into the student ‘pad’ I would have loved to have had. Not being able to change the wall colour,  I am slowly filling the room with bright textiles, (although I have just discovered the joy of decals and the chimney breast is now strewn with pink apple blossom).

Crochet is fabulous for this task, inexpensive; especially when using up all the odds and ends left over from other projects and relatively fast to achieve …. hence my mini obsession with crocheted cushions.

A closer look at the finished ones thus far….

Loved making this. Pattern by Lucy of Attic 24 here. I added the button and french knots to the centre as I felt it looked a little plain..
Loved making this Blooming Flower cushion. Pattern by Lucy of Attic 24,  here. I added the button and french knots to the centre as I felt it looked a little plain..

 

CAL FOR NK 2
Definitely want to make more of these. Used the popular African Flower granny square and incorporated a buttoned flap for easy care. African Flower Square tutorial, here.
Very simple corner to corner (c2c) technique. Lots of  different stripy designs can be achieved and works up really quickly. More of these on my list too. Video tutorial, here.
Very simple corner to corner (c2c) technique. Lots of different stripy designs can be achieved and works up really quickly. More of these on my list too. Video tutorial, here.

 

Too much? .. 🙂

image by Kate Jenkins
image by Kate Jenkins

Do you have a cushion fetish too?… do share, no-one will judge, honest.. 😀

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

