Festive Pretties …

diycraftyprojects dot com

      Apparently, we  have less than 12 weeks to knit and crochet ourselves into a frenzy, as all the social networks and stores keep reminding us on a daily, if not hourly basis. Don’t get me wrong, I love the festive season, in fact I love ALL seasons, (I am very easy to please) but it just seems to come round so twinklingly quickly!

This year, I have really been taken by surprise and have nothing even selected, let alone started. Quite funny really, as I obviously know December happens every year, I just equate it with my habit of never having a decent umbrella in time for winter.

 It’s England, for goodness sake, of course it’s going to rain!

Illustration by Theophile Alexandre Steinlen, 1859-1923

Every year I like to give each of my two sons at least one new hand-made decoration for their trees, some are knitted or crocheted and others I’ve embroidered. Whichever medium I choose, these little gifts are actually the things that give me the most pleasure to make. I have no idea how they feel about them, I know they are both sweet enough that they do display them, or at least they are on the tree when I visit … lol.

To me they represent a few precious hours when I sit and think solely of them and the children they once were … And the men they have become.

Each stitch, genuinely is made with love.

I rather like the thought that one day, hopefully many years from now, when I’m spinning clouds and knitting stars, they’ll still hang them on their trees and just for a few seconds, think of me too…

las teje y manaje.blogspot.fr


Every year, the same dilemma rears it’s paper hatted head... what shall I make? With this in mind, and the likelihood that others may feel the same, I thought I’d share a few of my favourites.

pine cones
These cute pine-cones are the perfect use for crocheted crocodile stitch. http://yarnfreak-blog.blogspot.dk/2013_12_01_archive.html
Baubles by General Hogbuffer
Beautifully traditional red and white baubles. http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/balls-up-
matryoshka doll
This Matryoshka doll would make an unusual but lovely bauble.     http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/russian-dolls
robin
Fluffy fledgling robin…so sweet. Crocheted. http://littlegreen.typepad.com/romansock/files/robin.pd

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       

Gorgeous knitted set. Available to purchase here: https://www.etsy.com/listing/62754616/amigurumi-patterns-knit-christmas
Gorgeous knitted set. Pattern available to purchase here: https://www.etsy.com/listing/62754616/amigurumi-patterns-knit-christmas

                                                                                                                                                                       


Hopefully this has gone some way to helping you find a little something that will add a special memory to your own (or a loved ones), tree.

                                                                                                                     Happy Festive Making … 


Leave a Reply

